Understanding Your Horoscope

Roadmap to Life: Understanding Your Horoscope

Last Updated on May 18, 2023 by Avia

Astrology studies the movements and positions of the planets and stars to determine the powerful influence they have on love, luck, and relationships.

The zodiac is based on the apparent path of the sun through the heavens, and astrology contains the twelve constellations or signs. One of the most important aspects of determining an individual’s personality is the “sun sign”, or the zone of the zodiac in which the sun resides on their date of birth.

Astrology Facts

Many people often wonder about astrology and what it may have to offer them on a personal basis. Many unique opportunities exist on the Internet to research their astrological sign and discover many revealing facts that shine an inner light on their personality or a loved one’s traits. Astrology brings greater insight into many of these interested individuals’ life.

By studying astrology, they have acquired greater knowledge, insight, and control over the zodiacal influences around them.

And many might wonder why some people seem so lucky? Could it be just luck? Could it be the toss of the dice? Or simply being in the right place at the right time. Many think it is because they are attuned to their astrological higher self.

Even today, in these modern times, thousands are turning to astrology to help them overcome their real problems and achieve great success and happiness in all things that matter to them on a personal, social, and business level. Astrology guidance might be one of the well-kept secrets of many politicians, entertainers, business greats, and sports figures.

Understanding Your Horoscope
Understanding Your Horoscope

Zodiac Signs

There are the 12 zodiac signs. Each sign is ruled by a house and planet.

  • Aries – First House, Ruling Planet Mars
  • Taurus – Second House, Ruling Planet Venus
  • Gemini – Third House, Ruling Planet Mercury
  • Cancer – Fourth House, Ruling Planet Moon
  • Leo – Fifth House, Ruling Planet Sun
  • Virgo – Sixth House, Ruling Planet Mercury
  • Libra -–Seventh House, Ruling Planet Venus
  • Scorpio – Eighth House, Ruling Planet Pluto
  • Sagittarius – Ninth House, Ruling Planet Jupiter
  • Capricorn – Tenth House, Ruling Planet Saturn
  • Aquarius – Eleventh House, Ruling Planet Uranus
  • Pisces – Twelfth House, Ruling Planet Neptune

By studying these zodiacal signs many soon realize the connection between the ruling houses and planets. And how they are all linked to create a certain personality.

A basic understanding of the twelve zodiac signs is the beginning of knowledge. This knowledge takes one beyond the stars and into a new world of enlightenment and understanding of the true nature of humanity.

Even with a basic understanding, it is easy to guide friends with this newfound knowledge about their true nature according to their star sign.

Understanding the Twelve Zodiac Signs

This is a simple guide to creating a foundation for understanding your horoscope and the twelve signs of the zodiac.

Astrology can be overwhelming for beginners who are trying to organize a mass of information all at once. This is a simple guide to creating a foundation for understanding zodiac signs. The following four facts will be the building blocks of learning about the zodiac.

  • There are twelve signs of the zodiac. They are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.
  • There are two ways to organize or understand the signs of the zodiac: by element and by quality.
  • There are four elements of the zodiac: fire, earth, air, and water. There are three signs for each of the four elements. Altogether, they make up the twelve zodiac signs.
  • There are three qualities: cardinal, fixed, and mutable. There are four signs for each of the three nodes. Altogether, they make up the twelve zodiac signs.
Understanding Your Horoscope
Understanding Your Horoscope

Therefore, each sign belongs to a distinct astrologically makeup. Each sign belongs to a specific node within an element.

Aries is the cardinal fire sign. Taurus is the fixed earth sign. Gemini is the mutable air sign. Cancer is the cardinal water sign.

Leo is the fixed fire sign. Virgo is the mutable earth sign. Libra is the cardinal air sign. Scorpio is the fixed water sign.

Sagittarius is the mutable fire sign. Capricorn is the cardinal earth sign. Aquarius is the fixed air sign. Pisces is the mutable water sign.

Notice that there are two repeating patterns on the astrological wheel, which begin with Aries and ends with Pisces. There is a pattern of nodes: Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable, Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable…etc. Notice that there is also a pattern of elements: Fire, Earth, Air, Water, Fire, Earth, Air, Water…etc.

The distinct astrological makeup of each sign gives each zodiac different strengths, weaknesses, personality characteristics, and character predispositions.

Elements Describe the Characteristics of Four Basic Types of Zodiac Signs

Fire signs are energetic, inspirational, enthusiastic, spontaneous, and creative. Like the element fire, they often transform situations with their optimism.

Earth signs are practical, stable, conventional, and dependable. Like the Earth, they are well-grounded and quite sensual.

Air signs are communicative, social, curious, and intellectual. As with the element air, air signs’ lofty nature allows them to have dynamic and analytical natures.

Water signs are sensitive, nurturing, sensual, and have strong instinctual feelings. Like water, they absorb their surroundings and are often tuned in a situation with unmatched insight.

Understanding Your Horoscope
Understanding Your Horoscope

Qualities Describe How the Sign Tends to Act

Cardinal signs are initiators. They take charge and are always starting new projects. They are the doers and inventors of the zodiac.

Fixed signs are stabilizers. They build on what has been done before and are typically unchanging. They bring continuation to the zodiac and often work in managerial positions.

Mutable signs are transformers. They are communicators and open (and usually quite interested) in changing. They are the chameleons and rebels of the zodiac.

Final Thoughts About Understanding Your Horoscope

Having identified and described elements and qualities, each sign can now determine its essential characteristics according to traditional astrological study. It is always advisable for those interested in astrology to have a natal chart made so you can better understand your horoscope and the planetary influences in your chart.

Authors Bio: John J. Gregg is an experienced writer, who provides students with an opportunity to get high grades on paperhelp.nyc. Besides writing, he enjoys reading and playing the guitar. In addition, John J. dreams of traveling and visiting as many countries as possible in his lifetime.

Whats-Your-Sign.com (WYS) is a trusted Etsy affiliate & Amazon Associate. We also promote certain products we've tested and approved. As such, the website features sponsored products for Amazon or Etsy or other afiliates. Should you make a purchase from a link on this website, WYS may receive a small commission. This website also hosts advertisements. Please see our policy page for further information. Thank you for your purchases, as it contributes to keeping this website online and running.