Jyotish Gemstone Meaning

Jyotish Gemstone Meanings

Last Updated on September 19, 2023 by Avia

Jyotish Astrological Gemstone Meaning

First of all, I guess it would be prudent to identify what “Jyotish” is.  Then, we’ll dig into Jyotish gemstone meanings.

Jyotish is the Hindu study of the planets, stars and the horizon.

‘Jyoti’ means ‘light’ that illuminates from the heavens and is considered the primary prana (energy) sustaining life.

The ‘sh’ in Jyotish means “best or wise.”  Combine these two parts and we could say Jyotish is the ‘wisdom of illumination.’

Gemstones have earned a rightful place in both classic astrology and Hindu (Jyotish) astrology.  Gemstone correspondences will vary according to different branches of astrology.

The following is a list of Jyotish astrological gemstones and their planetary correspondences.

Astrology and Jyotish Gemstone Meanings

“A spiritually illumined soul lives
in the world, yet is never contaminated by it.”

― Bhaskarananda

Jyotish Astrology Gemstone Meaning

Planet Meaning Sun

Ruby – Sun:
Wear rubies to harness the vitality of the sun.  These lusciously bright gems will enhance status, power, rank and passion in your social life.  The sun and ruby are symbols of wealth, health, honor and love.  Wear rubies for good luck and to attract warmth, compassion and positive energy.

Action Vibrance Vitality

Pearl – Moon:
Wear pearls to harness the intuitive energies of the moon.  The soft luster of pearls will trigger the dreamy waves of your imagination and will spark intuitive insights.  Pearls work with moon energy to enhance intellect, perception, interpretation (psychic) skills and dreaming.  Pearls will also encourage feminine aspects like nurturing and motherhood.

Emerald – Mercury:
Wear emeralds to help retain memory, and keep your intellect honed when it counts.  This stone is the perfect accessory when you are studying or undergoing any academic/scholastic endeavor because it promotes mental clarity and boosts aptitude.  Emerald also partners with Mercury to enable easy communication and helps express yourself clearly.

Red Coral – Mars:
Wear bright red coral when you need to banish stuffy energy that is no longer serving you.  Red coral partners with assertive Mars to ward off tribulations and worry.  These two also promote success in the realms of finance, career, social climbing, and teamwork.  Red coral will also help protect the wearer from natural disasters.

Yellow Sapphire – Jupiter:
Wear yellow sapphire to honor the expansive nature of Jupiter.  That means if you are looking to increase your status, take advantage of this planetary gemstone.  Jupiter and yellow sapphire partner together to promote growth in fame, fortune, reputation and also land ownership.  This will be a particularly good gem to wear if you are looking to succeed in acquisitions such as real estate or stocks.

Diamond – Venus:
Wear diamonds to enhance your sensuality and your sense of luxury.  There’s nothing better than seeing the sparkle of a diamond to boost your energy and position yourself in the seat of opulence.  Diamonds partner perfectly with Venus energy to bring success in love, fortune and long life.

Blue Sapphire – Saturn:
Wear blue sapphire when you require a sense of security and belonging in your life.  Blue sapphire and Saturn energy marry together to bring about satisfaction in the home as well as the office.  Blue sapphire has organizing energy that allows events to flow synchronistic ally for the wearer of this gemstone.  It’s also an extremely protective stone and will guard against misfortune.

Cinnabar – Rahu:
Rahu is considered one of two “shadow planets” in Jyotish and is known as the north node of the moon.  It partners with cinnabar to bring about victory over adverse conditions.  Cinnabar with Rahu energy will grant triumph over oppression.  It also helps with professional development and enhances mental clarity.

Ketu – Tigers Eye:
Ketu is the other “shadow planet” in Jyotish and is known as the south node of the moon.  It partners with tigers eye gemstone to promote psychic vision.  Wear tigers eye when you need to know hidden information about events.  Tigers eye with Ketu energy will also offer a calming effect an protects from interruptions and invasions of personal/private space.

I hope you have enjoyed these gemstone properties according to ancient Hindu Jyotish astrology.

If you liked this article, please share it!  And please be sure to check out the links below for other articles you might like!

As always, thank you for reading!



vedic name number meaning and vedic numerology meaning

Vedic Name Numerology

Vedic name numerology is a pseudo-scientific way to reveal more insight about our personalities, behaviors, work ethic, career prospects, and how we socially interact with others. Vedic numerology is an ancient system that reveals interesting insight about your character. Get your Vedic name number and interpretation here.

chakra animal symbols

Hindu Chakra Animal Symbols

Chakra animal symbols and meanings. There is a symbolic animal living in each one of your seven chakras. Find out more about these energetic Hindu chakra animals here.

Whats-Your-Sign.com (WYS) is a trusted Etsy affiliate & Amazon Associate. We also promote certain products we've tested and approved. As such, the website features sponsored products for Amazon or Etsy or other afiliates. Should you make a purchase from a link on this website, WYS may receive a small commission. This website also hosts advertisements. Please see our policy page for further information. Thank you for your purchases, as it contributes to keeping this website online and running.