Chakra Symbols

chakra symbols and their meanings
Share it!

Exploring Chakra Symbols and Meanings

Chakra Symbols and
Their Correspondences to the Whole Human

The word chakra is Sanskrit for wheel. Chakra symbols represent the circular centers of energy, and they correspond to the nerve plexuses and organs in the physical nervous system. By focusing on these energy centers, and understanding the function of each, we are able to balance our energies, augment areas in our lives, and even facilitate healing.

By referring to the chakra diagram on the left, and relating it to the table below, which describes the attributes for each energy center, you should get a clearer picture of what each chakra symbol represents and how each affects us differently.

“Love is the energy of life.”

~Robert Browning

The information given on this page is a basic summary. Chakra practitioners spend years learning about the healing arts relating to these intricate energy centers. If you wish to learn more about this unique realm of the human make-up, the author encourages you to begin an avid independent study.

Many individuals have chakra symbols embellished on clothing or keep these images near them in order to keep the attributes in their mind as they aspire to better balance and higher energy.

And, don’t miss my page on Chakra Animal Symbols here!

Chakra symbols
Chakra symbols

“Each of us is here to discover our true selves;

that essentially we are spiritual beings who have taken manifestation in physical form;

that we’re not human beings that have occasional spiritual experiences,

that we’re spiritual beings that have occasional human experiences”

~ Deepak Chopra

Chakra Symbols, Chakra Meanings and Correspondences

Common Name: Root Chakra
Located: Base of spine
Details and Governance: The root chakra governs the body’s organs of excretion and the adrenals, it also influences the sense of smell. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat survival, and rules the primal instinct. Its element is earth, its color is red, and it’s mantra is lam. Connect with this chakra to access your primal life-force.

Common Name: Sacram/Sacral Chakra
Located: Genitals
Details and Governance: The sacral chakra governs the body’s reproductive organs and gonads, it also influences the sense of taste. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat self-acceptance, raw emotion and sexual energy. Its element is water, its color is orange, and it’s mantra is vam. Connect with this chakra to access your creativity.

Common Name: Solar Plexus Chakra
Located: Navel
Details and Governance: The solar plexus chakra governs the pancreas and abdominal organs, it also influences the sense of sight. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat self-will, mental acuity and sense of identity. Its element is fire, its color is yellow, and it’s mantra is ram. Connect with this chakra to access your subconscious emotion, ego and will power.

Common Name: Heart Chakra
Located: Heart Area
Details and Governance: The heart chakra governs the body’s lungs and thymus, it also influences the sense of touch. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat compassion, love and healing. Its element is air, its color is green, and it’s mantra is yam. Connect with this chakra to access love.

Common Name: Throat Chakra
Located: Laryngeal Plexus
Details and Governance: The throat chakra governs the body’s thyroid, it also influences the sense of hearing. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat self-expression, and speech. Its element is ether, its color is blue, and it’s mantra is ham. Connect with this chakra to access creative expression and communication.

Common Name: Third-Eye Chakra
Located: Between the eyebrows, forhead
Details and Governance: The third-eye chakra governs the body’s pituitary gland, it also influences the sixth sense – the higher mind. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat intuition, and extra-sensory perception. Its element is time, its color is indigo, and it’s mantra is Aum. Connect with this chakra to access your primordial, super-natural power.

Common Name: Crown Chakra
Located: Top/crown of head, brain
Details and Governance: The crown chakra governs the body’s pineal gland, and its influence is beyond the sensory realm. Emotionally, this chakra is the seat divinity, peace and enlightenment. Its element is space, its color is violet, and it’s mantra is silence. Connect with this chakra to access all-knowing, eternal bliss and liberation from all things corporeal/material.

Chakra Symbols Diagram

Chakra chart
Chakra chart

“To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one’s family,

to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one’s own mind.

If a human can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment,

and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him.”


Other Articles of Interest on This Site

chakra color meanings

Chakra Color Meanings

By consciously working with the inherent connections between mind, body spirit we can be our whole selves. By being whole, we become vibrant and everything around us is astonished by the ebullient radiance that emanates from us. Part of that wholeness comes from connecting the colors of life to enhance flavor to our energy. Learn more about chakra color meanings to boost your life.

chakra animal symbols

Chakra Animal Meanings

Did you know each of the chakras are connected to a specific animal? Yep. There is a symbolic chakra animal living within each of the seven prime power centers. Check out this article on chakra meaning and the animal kingdom connection.